California Weather Forecasts
Home: Farm Centers: Farm Bureau Women

Farm Bureau Women

San Luis Obispo County Farm Bureau Women is an organization of women who are either members of the San Luis Obispo County Farm Bureau or friends and invited members. Meetings are held on the second Monday of every month. Meeting locations and directions can be found on the Farm Bureau Calendar.

Lynne Schmitz is the current Chairwoman for San Luis Obispo County Farm Bureau Women. Officially organized on April 13, 1923, the organization's history spans practically to the foundation of SLO County Farm Bureau, formed in 1922. Originally known as the "Farm Home Department," first-year membership totaled 350 people within 10 Farm Home Department centers in the county. Initial projects involved school lunches, nutrition and farm home improvement. Records indicate that by 1926, Farm Home Department Centers were organized in every active Farm Center in the county, including Arroyo Grande, Cayucos, Creston, Cambria, Estrella. Edna, Shandon, Templeton and Las FBWPilatas. Over its 90 years of existence, the organization has been involved in a countless number of community outreach programs and member services.

The Farm Bureau Women scholarship program was established more than 20 years ago, with the purpose of providing financial assistance to San Luis Obispo County Farm Bureau agriculture members and their dependents. Scholarships are awarded based on a variety of areas including academic performance, educational goals and financial need. The Scholarships are available for the educational needs of the applicant at a university, college, professional, or vocational school of their choice.

2016 Farm Bureau Women Scholarship Application

Download the PDF